Tchaikovsky Symphony No 6 'Pathétique'


Plus Lisa Batiashvili

Sun 4 Jun 2017 7.00pm - 9.00pm
Barbican Hall, London

STRAVINSKY Scènes de ballet
PROKOFIEV Violin Concerto No 1
TCHAIKOVSKY Symphony No 6 ('Pathétique')

Michael Tilson Thomas conductor
Lisa Batiashvili violin
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £10 £18 £24 £30 £42

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF) 

Part of the 2016/17 season

Update, Sunday 4 June 2pm

The London Symphony Orchestra and the Barbican would like to reassure our concert-goers that tonight's concert with Michael Tilson Thomas will go ahead at 7pm as planned, with enhanced security in place. We recommend, however, that you allow a little extra time for your journey today.

The thoughts of the players and administration of the LSO are with all the victims of last night's attack at London Bridge.

LSO Conductor Laureate Michael Tilson Thomas returns for the first of two concerts in 2016/17, for an all-Russian programme featuring solo violinist Lisa Batiashvilli.

After Stravinsky’s lively collection of dance miniatures, the Scènes du ballet, they perform Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto No 1, written during a time of great political upheaval. The Russian Revolution was brimming in Petrograd, but Prokofiev’s work reveals none of the political tumult and instead basks in the atmosphere of the serene countryside that was the setting of its creation.

This is at odds with the tortured introspection of Tchaikovsky’s last symphony, the ‘Pathétique’, a work of almost unparalleled emotional intensity and musical brilliance, that ends with a final submission to the inevitability of Fate: ‘it is inescapable and it can never be overcome’.