• List view
  • Grid view
  • Select view:

Events Calendar

Thu 21 Sep 2017 7.00pm - 9.30pm
Barbican Hall, London

Stravinsky ballets
This Is Rattle

STRAVINSKY The Firebird (original ballet)
STRAVINSKY Petrushka (1947 version)
STRAVINSKY The Rite of Spring

Sir Simon Rattle conductor
London Symphony Orchestra

An authority on Stravinsky, Sir Simon Rattle continues the 2017/18 season opening celebrations with three of the composer’s revolutionary ballets.

Stravinsky sent shockwaves through classical music in the 20th century. His first three ballets – The Firebird, Petrushka and The Rite of Spring, all composed between 1911 and 1913 – brought a new and frenzied sense of rhythm, so distressing to audiences that it caused uproar; The Rite of Spring even caused a riot.

And it’s not hard to see why. Is there any moment in music more demonic than the opening to The Firebird, a terrifying rumble of strings that would make Jaws tremble? There are few pieces more unsettling than The Rite of Spring with its carnal, tribal rhythms; or Petrushka with its impish Punch and Judy puppets. Sir Simon Rattle brings these three creations to life in this dramatic programme. 

Gala package

A special Gala package, including top price tickets and an exclusive post-concert dinner, is still available for this concert. Please visit lsogala.eventbrite.co.uk or contact Hannah Bone ([email protected] or 020 7382 2563) for further details.

Pre-concert events

Foyer Fanfares: Guildhall School musicians
6pm, Barbican Foyers


This concert will be broadcast live on BBC Radio 3

bbc radio 3 web


Sign up for the SMS returns queue

Tickets: £55 £40 £30 £20 £15

Wildcard info and T&Cs

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys
£5 under-18s tickets available

Part of the 2017/18 season