Artist Spotlight: Esther Yoo


This Is Rattle / BBC Radio 3 Rush Hour Concert

Fri 22 Sep 2017 6.30pm - 7.30pm
Jerwood Hall, LSO St Luke's, London

VAUGHAN WILLIAMS The Lark Ascending (original version for violin and piano)
GRIEG Violin Sonata No 3 in C minor Op 45
GLAZUNOV Grand Adagio from 'Raymonda'
TCHAIKOVSKY Waltz-Scherzo Op 34

Esther Yoo violin
Robert Koenig piano

Tickets: £14 (£12 concessions)
NB Unallocated seating

£0.60 online booking fee, £0.70 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the This Is Rattle multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys

Part of the 2017/18 season

One of the youngest ever prizewinners of both the International Sibelius Violin Competition and the Queen Elisabeth Competition, Esther Yoo joined the BBC Radio 3 New Generation Artist scheme in 2014. Praised by the press for her ‘soulful’ and ‘bewitching’ playing, she immediately impressed with her beautiful tone and overwhelming powers of communication.

Esther’s many distinguished collaborators include Vladimir Ashkenazy and the Philharmonia Orchestra, and she has also formed a piano trio – the Z E N Trio – with fellow NGAs Zhang Zuo (piano) and Narek Hakhnazaryan (cello). Today we have the chance to hear her in two composers very close to her heart – Tchaikovsky and Glazunov – as well as Grieg’s gorgeously romantic sonata and Vaughan Williams’ The Lark Ascending, the work with which she made her BBC Proms debut last year.

Change of programme
In a change to early listings please note that Glazunov's Grand Adagio from 'Raymonda' and Tchaikovsky's Waltz-Scherzo Op 34 will now be performed instead of Ysaye's Sonata No 3 in D minor
Posted Fri 1 Sep 2017 3.30pm


This concert will be broadcast on BBC Radio 3 on 29 September

bbc radio 3 web