Stravinsky ballets: Paris


On tour

Fri 22 Sep 2017 7.00pm - 10.00pm
Philharmonie de Paris

STRAVINSKY The Firebird (original ballet)
STRAVINSKY Petrushka (1947 version)
STRAVINSKY The Rite of Spring

Sir Simon Rattle conductor
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: for more information and tickets please visit the Philharmonie de Paris website.

Sir Simon Rattle continues the 2017/18 season opening celebrations by taking the Orchestra on tour to the Philharmonie in Paris, where the LSO is a frequent visitor.

Stravinsky sent shockwaves through classical music in the 20th century. His first three ballets – The FirebirdPetrushka and The Rite of Spring, all composed between 1911 and 1913 – brought a new and frenzied sense of rhythm, so distressing to audiences that it caused uproar; The Rite of Spring even caused a riot.

And it’s not hard to see why. Is there any moment in music more demonic than the opening to The Firebird, a terrifying rumble of strings that would make Jaws tremble? There are few pieces more unsettling than The Rite of Spring with its carnal, tribal rhythms; or Petrushka with its impish Punch and Judy puppets. Sir Simon Rattle brings these three creations to life in this dramatic programme.