Stravinsky ballets


This Is Rattle

Sun 24 Sep 2017 6.00pm - 8.30pm
Barbican Hall, London

STRAVINSKY The Firebird (original ballet)
STRAVINSKY Petrushka (1947 version)
STRAVINSKY The Rite of Spring

Sir Simon Rattle conductor
London Symphony Orchestra


Tickets: £55 £40 £30 £20 £15

Wildcard info and T&Cs

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys
£5 under-18s tickets available

download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)

Part of the 2017/18 season

An authority on Stravinsky, Sir Simon Rattle continues the 2017/18 season opening celebrations with three of the composer’s revolutionary ballets.

Stravinsky sent shockwaves through classical music in the 20th century. His first three ballets – The Firebird, Petrushka and The Rite of Spring, all composed between 1911 and 1913 – brought a new and frenzied sense of rhythm, so distressing to audiences that it caused uproar; The Rite of Spring even caused a riot.

And it’s not hard to see why. Is there any moment in music more demonic than the opening to The Firebird, a terrifying rumble of strings that would make Jaws tremble? There are few pieces more unsettling than The Rite of Spring with its carnal, tribal rhythms; or Petrushka with its impish Punch and Judy puppets. Sir Simon Rattle brings these three creations to life in this dramatic programme.

Please be advised that there will be no late-comers point during the first piece.

Pre-concert events

Foyer Fanfares: Guildhall School musicians
5.30pm, Barbican Foyers

Clare Elton Fanfare (world premiere)
Julian Anderson Opening of Fantasia I from ‘Fantasias’
Stravinsky Prelude from ‘The Rake’s Progress’

Guildhall School Musicians
Matthew Stein, Jacob Rosenberg, Rebecca Toal, Tom Kearsey trumpets
Sam Barber, Alistair Goodwin trombones
Oliver Johnson, Luke Maher horns


Broadcast live on the LSO's YouTube channel and on

Generously supported by Reignwood


Rec ClassicFM 2016 150 50