Mahler's Fifth Symphony


Thu 5 Oct 2017 7.30pm - 9.45pm
Barbican Hall, London

BRITTEN Violin Concerto
MAHLER Symphony No 5

Semyon Bychkov conductor
Janine Jansen violin
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £55 £40 £30 £20 £15

Wildcard info and T&Cs

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys
£5 under-18s tickets available

download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)

Part of the 2017/18 season

Semyon Bychkov and Janine Jansen bring us a concert of sorrow and triumph with music from Britten and Mahler.

Following her LSO Artist Portrait last season, Janine Jansen presents Britten’s Violin Concerto, a grief-stricken yet achingly beautiful violin-concerto-as-requiem, written in despair at the victory of General Franco in the Spanish Civil War. The work struggles between an encroaching darkness and that very last candle-flame of hope, which ever refuses to be fully extinguished.

With its huge emotional scope and large orchestral forces, Mahler’s Symphony No 5 is a real journey from tragedy to triumph. It opens in turbulent darkness and uncertainty, and closes with a vast exultant finale and an ecstatic riot of counterpoint, which ensues in the work’s final pages.

Pre-concert events

LSO Platforms: Guildhall Artists
Barbican Hall 6pm, free entry

BRITTEN Phatasy Quartet for Oboe and String Trio
Rees Webster oboe
Tim Crawford violin
Anna Growns viola
Thomas Vidal cello

BRITTEN Sinfonietta
David Corkhill conductor
Susanna Bailey
Inoko Isobe oboe
Julia Raga clarinet
Fabian van de Geest horn
Tim Crawford violin
Callie Brennan violin
Anna Growns viola
Thomas Vidal cello
Mario Torres Valdivieso double bass

Rec ClassicFM 2016 150 50