• List view
  • Grid view
  • Select view:

Events Calendar

Sun 29 Oct 2017 7.00pm - 8.45pm
Barbican Hall, London

Prokofiev & Tchaikovsky
Gianandrea Noseda & Khatia Buniatishvili

PROKOFIEV Piano Concerto No 2

Gianandrea Noseda conductor
Khatia Buniatishvili piano
London Symphony Orchestra

‘Where words fail, music speaks’ – Hans Christian Andersen. Nowhere does this ring so true as in these two works, deeply affected by tragic events.

Prokofiev's Second Piano Concerto was written in memory of a friend who took their own life at a young age, conveying yearning for what might have been. Over the years, it has become synonymous with the dazzling skill and fierce endurance required by the soloist, 'like a dragon devouring its young,' according to pianist Sviatoslav Richter.

Urgent, supercharged and violent in places, Tchaikovsky's Fourth Symphony is said to reflect the turmoil the composer found himself in while composing: a disastrous marriage, struggling with his sexuality and severe depression. Yet, despite the gloomy outlook, the symphony proves undoubtedly that Tchaikovsky knew how to fill his works with memorable melodies.

Tickets: £55 £40 £30 £20 £15

Wildcard info and T&Cs

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys
£5 under-18s tickets available

Part of the 2017/18 season