Bernstein 100


Symphony No 3

Sun 5 Nov 2017 7.00pm - 9.00pm
Barbican Hall, London

MAHLER Adagio from Symphony No 10
BERNSTEIN Symphony No 3, ‘Kaddish’

Marin Alsop conductor
Adam Walker flute*
Claire Bloom narrator
Laura Claycomb soprano
London Symphony Chorus
Simon Halsey
chorus director
Tiffin Boys' Choir
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £55 £40 £30 £20 £15

Wildcard info and T&Cs

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys
£5 under-18s tickets available

As the LSO marks the centenary of its former President, Leonard Bernstein, Marin Alsop presents a concert of music telling of despair and redemption.

In Bernstein’s dramatic ‘Kaddish’ Symphony, a narrator confronts God over the world’s suffering and makes an impassioned plea for him to restore peace to the world. The two embark on a chaotic dream sequence, culminating in an uplifting climax as both sides commit to ‘suffer and recreate each other’.

The symphony is paired with Halil, Bernstein’s haunting work for flute and orchestra, dedicated to a young musician killed in the Yom Kippur War, with the LSO’s own Principal Flute Adam Walker taking the solo role. The sorrowful Adagio from Mahler’s unfinished Tenth Symphony splits the programme, the final work of a composer who played a central role throughout Bernstein’s career.

Pre-concert events

Pre-concert talk
Barbican Hall 5.45pm, free entry

Remembering Lenny
Principal Flute Gareth Davies talks to Marin Alsop and members of the LSO about their memories of working with Bernstein, the Orchestra’s President from 1987 until his death in 1990.


Also in this series:

Wed 8 Dec 2017: Bernstein 100

Sat 16 Dec 2017: Bernstein 100

Thu 21 Dec 2017: Half Six Fix: Bernstein Wonderful Town