Total Liszt


With Sir Antonio Pappano

Sun 26 Nov 2017 7.00pm - 9.15pm
Barbican Hall, London

LISZT Totentanz *
LISZT A Faust Symphony

Sir Antonio Pappano conductor
Alice Sara Ott piano *
Brenden Gunnell tenor
Gentlemen of the London Symphony Chorus
Simon Halsey chorus director
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £55 £40 £30 £20 £15

Wildcard info and T&Cs

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys
£5 under-18s tickets available

download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)

Part of the 2017/18 season

Enter the wild, heady and relentlessly imaginative world of Franz Liszt, with music full of imposing power and his trademark piano fireworks.

Liszt’s works speak of a brilliant musical imagination, sparked by fantastical stories and vivid impressions drawn from art and the world around him. Sir Antonio Pappano brings together three works that reveal these rich sources of inspiration – a painting encountered on an Italian sojourn in Sposalizio, the powerful drama of Goethe’s Faust, and a lifelong fascination with the macabre.

Pianist Alice Sara Ott is more than a match for Liszt’s famously virtuosic music. She joins Pappano and the LSO for the explosive Totentanz (Dance of Death), taking on its wild darkness, hammering sounds and cascades of chords that whip up and down the piano’s keyboard.


Alice Sara Ott plays a short section of Liszt's Totentanz