Euroradio 50th Anniversary Concert


Mon 27 Nov 2017 7.00pm - 9.00pm
Jerwood Hall, LSO St Luke's, London

DOBRINKA TABAKOVA Fanfare (world premiere)
BRITTEN Suite on English Folk Tunes 'A time there was...', Op 90
MOZART Sinfonia concertante, K 364
BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto No 5 'Emperor'

Johannes Wildner conductor
Esther Yoo violin
Eivind Holtsmark Ringstad viola
Pavel Kolesnikov piano
BBC Concert Orchestra


(You will be redirected to the BBC Shows and Tours website)

Tickets: free, booking required


Johannes Wildner conducts the BBC Concert Orchestra in a very special concert to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the European Broadcasting Union’s regular music exchanges.

It opens with a brand new fanfare written for the occasion by BBC Concert Orchestra Composer in Residence Dobrinka Tabakova. Composer Benjamin Britten conducted the very first concert in 1967, which took place 50 years ago to this day, and his arrangements of British folksongs are performed here in his honour. One of the pieces from the original 1967 concert was Mozart’s delightful Sinfonia Concertante which is performed here with two BBC New Generation Artists – Esther Yoo (violin) and Eivind Holtsmark Ringstad (viola).

In the second half we welcome another of the BBC New Generation Artists Pavel Kolesnikov as the soloist for Beethoven’s ‘Emperor’ concerto, which Kolesnikov describes as “the God of all piano concertos”, chosen for this concert by listeners via a poll organised by the EBU.