Strauss & Mahler


With Sir Simon Rattle

Wed 13 Dec 2017 7.30pm - 9.30pm
Barbican Hall, London

STRAUSS Metamorphosen
MAHLER Das Lied von der Erde

Sir Simon Rattle conductor
Simon O’Neill tenor
Christian Gerhaher baritone
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £55 £40 £30 £20 £15

Wildcard info and T&Cs

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys
£5 under-18s tickets available

download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)

Part of the 2017/18 season

Sir Simon Rattle is joined by two international opera stars for a programme of sumptuous music from the masters of Romanticism, Strauss and Mahler.

Strauss and Mahler both shared the ability to exploit the full force of the orchestra, weaving moments of intense emotion into cinematic musical landscapes. This is especially true of Metamorphosen and Das Lied von der Erde. With Strauss writing his work for strings in the wake of the destruction of war, and Mahler’s symphonic settings of ancient poetry lamenting the death of his eldest daughter, these two sentimental works are laced with moments of heartache.

As one of the finest interpreters of Romantic repertoire, Sir Simon Rattle brings together Simon O’Neill and Christian Gerhaher, two of the leading performers in opera houses around the world, for this poignant programme: a portrait of love, grief and a reflection on life itself.

Pre-concert events

Pre-Concert Talk: Curating Rattle
Barbican Library 5.45pm, free entry

Join us for a pre-concert talk with Edward Smith, former Chief Executive of the CBSO and co-curator of the Barbican Library's Rattle exhibition, and conductor John Carewe, one of Sir Simon's first and most influential teachers. Hosted by LSO violinist Lennox Mackenzie, the guests discuss their history with Sir Simon Rattle, drawing together stories and memorabilia to illustrate the maestro's musical life.
Limited places on a first come, first served basis.

LSO Platforms: Guildhall Artists
Barbican Hall 6pm, free entry

STRAUSS Sonatina No 1 for 16 wind instruments "from an invalid's workshop"

Andrew Marriner conductor
Guildhall Wind Ensemble


This concert will be broadcast live on BBC Radio 3

bbc radio 3 web



Also with Sir Simon Rattle this season:

Sun 17 Dec 2017:
Strauss & Mahler

Thu 11 Jan 2018:
Mahler Rückert-Lieder

Sun 22 Apr 2018:
Mahler comp Cooke Symphony No 10