Bernstein 100


With Sir Simon Rattle

Sat 16 Dec 2017 7.30pm - 9.40pm
Barbican Hall, London

BERNSTEIN Symphony No 2, ‘The Age Of Anxiety’ *
BERNSTEIN Wonderful Town (concert version)

Sir Simon Rattle conductor
Krystian Zimerman piano *
Danielle de Niese Eileen
Alysha Umphress Ruth
Nathan Gunn Bob Baker
Duncan Rock Wreck
David Butt Philip Lonigan
Ashley Riches Guide/First Editor/Frank
Michael Baxter Fourth Cop
Kevin Brewis Third Cop/First Man/Cadet/Villager
Stephen John Davis First Cop
Flora Dawson Violet
Soophia Foroughi Second Woman
Andrew Keelan Second Cop/Second Man
Jane Quinn First Woman
London Symphony Chorus
Simon Halsey chorus director
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £55 £40 £30 £20 £15

Wildcard info and T&Cs

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys
£5 under-18s tickets available

download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)

Part of the 2017/18 season

Sir Simon Rattle presents a double-bill of works by Leonard Bernstein, to celebrate the centenary of the Orchestra’s former President.

Rattle is joined by pianist Krystian Zimerman for the symphony inspired by W H Auden’s ambitious book-length poem, The Age of Anxiety, which Bernstein considered ‘one of the most shattering examples of virtuosity in the history of English poetry’. It’s an eclectic set of variations for piano and orchestra, following four strangers as they struggle to combat their loneliness and isolation in an increasingly industrialised world.

One of Bernstein’s lesser-known musicals, Wonderful Town is nevertheless a swinging, bluesy, fun and uplifting piece, with five Tony Awards to its name. A sunny and good-humoured work, it tells the story of two sisters seeking success and bright lights from their basement apartment in New York City.


Also in this series:

Thursday 21 Dec 2017: Half Six Fix:
Wonderful Town