Music of Exile: Genesis Suite & Bartók’s Concerto for Orchestra


Sir Simon Rattle and Gerard McBurney

Sat 13 Jan 2018 7.30pm - 9.35pm
Barbican Hall, London

BARTÓK Concerto for Orchestra

Sir Simon Rattle conductor
Helen McCrory narrator
Simon Callow narrator
Rodney Earl Clarke narrator
Sara Kestelman narrator
Gerard McBurney creative director
Mike Tutaj projection design
London Symphony Chorus
Simon Halsey chorus director
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £55 £40 £30 £20 £15

Wildcard info and T&Cs

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys
£5 under-18s tickets available

download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)

Part of the 2017/18 season and Barbican Presents

Sir Simon Rattle conducts two works from the 1940s, including a rarely-heard collaboration between some of the biggest composers of the day.

1945: the world is reeling from war and persecution on a scale never seen before. Seven composers – many of them Jewish, with Schoenberg and Stravinsky among them – have left Europe, taking refuge in the US and finding opportunities in Hollywood’s glittering film industry.

These seven composers came together to create something never heard before: the Genesis Suite, musically depicting dramatic stories from the first book of the Bible. It’s a work of incredible ambition with political themes that still resonate in 2017. The Tower of Babel, Adam and Eve, the Flood – these are stories of displaced peoples, broken promises and destruction. 

And in this rare performance these stories of Genesis, war and our current political climate will be brought to life through visual projections by Gerard McBurney and Mike Tutaj, transforming the Barbican Hall in a new realisation as innovative as the Genesis Suite itself.

Bartók’s Concerto for Orchestra can also be heard as an expression of his own emigré experience. Displaced to America, lacking contacts, and with money short, he was given the opportunity to write for the Boston Symphony Orchestra. True to its title, he lets every section shine in this joyful celebration of orchestral music, and perhaps the new-found political freedom he held in his new home.

Produced by LSO and Barbican