• List view
  • Grid view
  • Select view:

Events Calendar

Thu 8 Feb 2018 7.30pm - 9.40pm
Barbican Hall, London

Sir Mark Elder
Elgar Symphony No 1

JANÁČEK SChluck und Jau
BARTÓK Piano Concerto No 3
ELGAR Symphony No 1

Sir Mark Elder conductor
Francesco Piemontesi piano
London Symphony Orchestra

Elgar's First Symphony completes a programme of three works that were all many years in the making.

Janáček’s incidental music for Gerhardt Hauptmann’s play Schluck und Jau was written in the last year of the composer’s life, remaining unfinished at his death. The comedy tells the tale of the eponymous drunken vagrants, their mistaken identity and treatment at the hands of Prince Jon.

Bartók’s Third Piano Concerto, too, was left unfinished at his death. As a gift for his wife to play, the music is serene and lyrical with an ambiance of serenity, evoking the American birdsong he had begun to study.

Elgar's First Symphony was composed over many years, but was considered by many to be the most perfect and lyrical of all of Elgar’s works. ‘An immediate and phenomenal success,’ reported the Musical Times after the 1908 premiere.

Tickets: £55 £40 £30 £20 £15

Wildcard info and T&Cs

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys
£5 under-18s tickets available

On sale online from 10am Friday 3 February 2017