Sir Mark Elder


Elgar Symphony No 2

Sun 11 Feb 2018 7.00pm - 9.20pm
Barbican Hall, London

DVOŘÁK Overture: Othello
BRUCH Violin Concerto No 1
ELGAR Symphony No 2

Sir Mark Elder conductor
Nikolaj Znaider violin
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £55 £40 £30 £20 £15

Wildcard info and T&Cs

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys
£5 under-18s tickets available

download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)

Part of the 2017/187 Season

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.

Rousing musical characterisations, dazzling virtuosic violin writing and 'the passionate pilgrimage of a soul' fill this concert.

Dvořák’s overture, originally one of three written together, is not a faithful musical adaptation of Shakespeare’s tragedy, but portrays the love and emotions that are central to the drama with the rousing, spectacular coda depicting the outcome of Othello's suicide.

Bruch was a master at writing for stringed instruments, and this concerto allows the violin to shine. With dazzling virtuosic passages and heart-breaking romantic themes, the concerto became so popular that it overshadowed everything else Bruch wrote.

More complicated and opulent than his first, Elgar's Second Symphony was written in memory of King Edward VII who died in 1910. It ‘glows with a strange, veiled radiance and reveals his true colouristic genius,’ says critic Tom Service.

Pre-concert events

LSO Platform: Guildhall Artists
5.30pm Barbican Hall

ELGAR Piano Quintet in A minor, Op 84

Joon Yoon piano
Amarins Wierdsma violin
Lyrit Milgram violin
Alexander McFarlane viola
Ben Tarlton cello

Rec ClassicFM 2016 150 50