Harding & Kavakos


Helen Grime, Prokofiev & Strauss

Sun 18 Feb 2018 7.00pm - 8.50pm
Barbican Hall, London

PROKOFIEV Violin Concerto No 2
STRAUSS An Alpine Symphony

Daniel Harding conductor
Leonidas Kavakos violin
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £55 £40 £30 £20 £15

Wildcard info and T&Cs

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys
£5 under-18s tickets available

download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)

Part of the 2017/18 Season 

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.

Daniel Harding leads a whirlwind musical tour from Russia to the heights of an Alpine peak.

Prokofiev wrote that his Second Violin Concerto was the product of his ‘nomadic concert-tour existence’, which took him from Paris to Baku, Madrid to Morocco. Despite this, its fluid, lyrical melodies carry more than a hint of the composer’s homeland of Russia, to which he was about to return, along with tinges of Spain in the finale’s clicking castanets.

Strauss’ Alpine Symphony is a different journey altogether. A vivid story of extremes, illustrated by a vast orchestra, it follows an epic ascent to the heights of an Alpine peak, with every daring step, sublime view and terrifying force of nature captured in the music.