Gardiner's Schumann


Schumann Symphony No 4 NB Change of soloist and concerto

Thu 15 Mar 2018 7.30pm - 9.10pm
Barbican Hall, London

SCHUMANN Overture: Genoveva
MOZART Piano Concerto No 25 K503
SCHUMANN Overture, Scherzo and Finale
SCHUMANN Symphony No 4

Sir John Eliot Gardiner conductor
Piotr Anderszewski piano
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £55 £40 £30 £20 £15

Wildcard info and T&Cs

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys
£5 under-18s tickets available

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.

Three works from the happiest time of Robert Schumann's life – his marriage to pianist Clara Wieck, his inspiration and muse.

Schumann’s Overture, Scherzo and Finale was originally conceived as a symphony, or 'symphonette' as he liked to call it, but having no slow movement he eventually republished it as this three-movement work.

The Fourth Symphony was also revised by Schumann after the unsuccessful premiere. However, in the face of opposition from Clara, Brahms later revived the original version, presented in this concert, which he considered lighter and more transparent in texture.


Change of soloist and concerto

Maria João Pires is retiring from major concert projects as from January 2018 and is therefore now unavailable for her performances with the LSO and Sir John Eliot Gardiner in March 2018. We are grateful to Piotr Anderszewski who will now be performing with the Orchestra for the Barbican concert on 15 March.

Due to the change of soloist there will also be a change of concerto, with Mozart Piano Concerto No 25, K503 being performed in place of the Schumann Piano Concerto.