Gardiner's Schumann


Schumann Symphony No 4 NB Change of soloist and concerto

Thu 15 Mar 2018 7.30pm - 9.20pm
Barbican Hall, London

SCHUMANN Overture, Scherzo and Finale
SCHUMANN Violin Concerto
SCHUMANN Overture: Genoveva
SCHUMANN Symphony No 4

Sir John Eliot Gardiner conductor
Isabelle Faust violin
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £55 £40 £30 £20 £15

Wildcard info and T&Cs

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys
£5 under-18s tickets available

download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.

Works from the happiest time of Robert Schumann's life – his marriage to pianist Clara Wieck, his inspiration and muse.

Schumann’s Overture, Scherzo and Finale was originally conceived as a symphony, or 'symphonette' as he liked to call it, but having no slow movement he eventually republished it as this three-movement work.

The Fourth Symphony was also revised by Schumann after the unsuccessful premiere. However, in the face of opposition from Clara, Brahms later revived the original version, presented in this concert, which he considered lighter and more transparent in texture.

Change of soloist and concerto

March 2018
Piotr Anderszewski is suffering from influenza and is unable to perform Mozart Piano Concerto No 25 on Tuesday 13 March 2018 at the Paris Philharmonie and on Thu 15 March 2018 at the Barbican.

It has therefore become necessary to adjust the programme, and we are very grateful to Isabelle Faust, who has agreed to step in at short notice and perform the Schumann Violin Concerto.
Posted 11.25am, Tuesday 13 March 2018

December 2017
Maria João Pires is retiring from major concert projects as from January 2018 and is therefore now unavailable for her performances with the LSO and Sir John Eliot Gardiner in March 2018. We are grateful to Piotr Anderszewski who will now be performing with the Orchestra for the Barbican concert on 15 March.

Due to the change of soloist there will also be a change of concerto, with Mozart Piano Concerto No 25, K503 being performed in place of the Schumann Piano Concerto.