Debussy and Beyond


Sun 25 Mar 2018 7.00pm - 9.30pm
Barbican Hall, London

BOULEZ Livre pour cordes
BARTÓK Violin Concerto No 2
EWAN CAMPBELL Frail Skies (world premiere, Panufnik Commission)*
STRAVINSKY Chant du rossignal

François-Xavier Roth conductor
Renaud Capuçon violin
London Symphony Orchestra

*Panufnik commission generously supported by Lady Hamlyn and the Helen Hamlyn Trust

Tickets: £55 £40 £30 £20 £15

Wildcard info and T&Cs

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys
£5 under-18s tickets available

download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)

Part of the 2017/18 season

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.

Three iconic works inspired by Debussy – his best-loved work for orchestra and a world premiere – form the finale of our Debussy centenary celebration

Béla Bartók once remarked that ‘Debussy’s great service to music was to awaken among all musicians an awareness of harmony and its possibilities.’ Nowhere is this quite as evident as in La mer, a work that was deeply controversial with its unpredictable harmony and shimmering, atmospheric textures.

Much like Debussy’s music, Bartók’s Second Violin Concerto ebbs and flows in a whirlwind of melodies; Stravinsky’s Chant du rossignol paints portraits of the orient; Boulez’s radical Livre pour cordes defies predictability. And Ewan Campbell’s new work inspired by the composer testifies that, even 100 years after his death, Debussy is still one of the great geniuses of modern music.

Pre-concert events

LSO Platforms: Guildhall Artists
Barbican Hall 5.30pm, free entry

DEBUSSY Danse sacrée et danse profane for harp and strings

Elin Samuel harp
Timothy Chua violin
Ida Derbesse violin
Agnieszka Zyniewicz viola
Akito Goto cello
Piotr Hetman double bass

DEBUSSY String Quartet in G minor, Op 10

Accendo Quartet:
Juliette Roos violin
Sabine Sergejeva violin
Alexander McFarlane viola
Daniel Benn cello