Sibelius' Fifth Symphony


Susanna Mälkki & Daniel Müller-Schott

Sun 15 Apr 2018 7.00pm - 8.40pm
Barbican Hall, London

PATRICK GIGUÈRE Revealing (world premiere, Panufnik Commission*)
ELGAR Cello Concerto
SIBELIUS Symphony No 5

Susanna Mälkki conductor
Daniel Müller-Schott cello
London Symphony Orchestra

*The Panufnik Composers Scheme is generously supported by Lady Hamlyn and the Helen Hamlyn Trust

Tickets: £55 £40 £30 £20 £15

Wildcard info and T&Cs

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys
£5 under-18s tickets available

download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)

Part of the 2017/18 season 

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.

Susanna Mälkki introduces us to her world of musical inspirations.

The spirit, folk epics and sweeping landscapes of Mälkki’s native Finland are captured in the music of Sibelius, who stands as a cultural hero to his Nordic homeland. Mälkki conducts his Fifth Symphony, an exhilarating journey to the grand, elemental hymn of the finale, inspired by a flight of swans swooping across the sky.

Before stepping onto the conductor’s podium, Mälkki was also a cellist. She returns to the singing depths of her instrument for Elgar’s Cello Concerto, with soloist Daniel Müller-Schott bringing its wistful melancholy to life. And, finally, Mälkki draws on her zeal for contemporary music to conduct a new work, Revealing, by Patrick Giguère, commissioned as part of the LSO Panufnik Composers Scheme.

Interview: Susanna Mälkki

Susanna Mälkki on Sibelius, Elgar, and becoming a conductor:

download unspecified

Interview: Susanna Mälkki