Sibelius Symphonies


MTT & Ray Chen. NB Change of Soloist

Thu 17 May 2018 7.30pm - 9.30pm
Barbican Hall, London

SIBELIUS Violin Concerto
SIBELIUS Symphony No 6
SIBELIUS Symphony No 7

Michael Tilson Thomas conductor
Ray Chen violin
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £55 £40 £30 £20 £15

Wildcard info and T&Cs

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys
£5 under-18s tickets available

download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)

Part of the 2017/18 season

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.

The LSO, led by Conductor Laureate Michael Tilson Thomas, draw out the luminous sounds and epic musical narratives of Sibelius’ music.

Sibelius likened his own music to ‘the purest spring water’, a challenge to the rich cocktails ‘of every hue and description’ purveyed by his contemporaries. The result was an unmistakable voice, one that is full of shimmering strings, shifting textures and the sounds of birdsong, conjuring up the elemental forces of nature and the legends of Finnish folklore.

Michael Tilson Thomas conducts three works with the LSO that show different dimensions of Sibelius’ distinctive voice, from the brooding intensity of the Violin Concerto to the experimentation of the Seventh Symphony, written in a single, surging sweep of music.

Change of Soloist

Janine Jansen is indisposed due to health reasons, and is no longer able to appear in the LSO’s concert at the Barbican Centre on Thursday 17 May. The LSO is very grateful to violinist Ray Chen, who has agreed to step in at short notice as the soloist for Sibelius’ Violin Concerto.

Rec ClassicFM 2016 150 50