Shostakovich Symphony No 10


Gianandrea Noseda & Nicola Benedetti

Sun 24 Jun 2018 7.00pm - 9.00pm
Barbican Hall, London

SHOSTAKOVICH Violin Concerto No 1

Gianandrea Noseda conductor
Nicola Benedetti violin
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £55 £40 £30 £20 £15

LSO Patrons enjoy access to an allocation of premium reserved seats for sold-out concerts. Click here to find out more.

Wildcard info and T&Cs

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys
£5 under-18s tickets available

download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)

Part of the 2017/18 season 

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.

Shostakovich's music is such an important chronicle of life in 20th century Soviet Russia, and here are two pillars of that story.

Composed during Stalin's reign of terror, the First Violin Concerto is one of a handful of works which were hidden away unpublished until after the dictator's death in order to avoid arrest by the authorities. The soloist needs to draw on vast reserves of emotional stamina and enormous technical skills, with even its dedicatee David Oistrakh noting 'it does not fall easily into one's hands'.

The Tenth Symphony was written after Stalin's death and portrays the tragedy, despair, terror and violence of his tenure. The second movement is a musical portrait of Stalin, a march of unremitting terror and frenzied violence, while the finale contains some of the slowest of the whole symphony, a reminder of the desolation of the Gulag prisoners.

Live stream

Shostakovich Symphony No 10 live streamed on the LSO YouTube channel. Also available on demand for 90 days.

Generously supported by Reignwood