Mahler Symphony No 9: Osaka


On tour

Sun 23 Sep 2018 2.00pm - 4.15pm
Osaka Festival Hall

BERNSTEIN The Age of Anxiety
MAHLER Symphony No 9

Sir Simon Rattle conductor
Krystian Zimerman piano
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: for more information and tickets please visit the Osaka Festival Hall website.

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.

Mahler’s final completed symphony, never heard while he was alive, doesn’t end so much as expire. Two slow movements frame two fast ones – the beginning, birth (or creation); the end, death (or ascension); with the hurried business of life in between.

Sir Simon Rattle once said that the music of Mahler never needed any translation for him; it just made sense. This performance promises to be a revelation.