Bernstein 100: Tokyo


On tour

Mon 24 Sep 2018 6.00pm - 8.00pm
Suntory Hall, Tokyo

BERNSTEIN Symphony No 2 'The Age of Anxiety'
DVORÁK Slavonic Dances
JANÁCEK Sinfonietta

Sir Simon Rattle conductor
Krystian Zimerman piano
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: for more information and tickets please visit the Suntory Hall website.


Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.

Sir Simon Rattle and the LSO are joined by the remarkable Polish pianist Krystian Zimerman to celebrate Leonard Bernstein’s centenary, Symphony No 2 ‘The Age of Anxiety’, which casts its piano soloist as an everyman searching for spiritual meaning in the modern world.

They contrast Bernstein’s gripping explorations with the foot-tapping Slavonic Dances of Dvořák, and the blazing brass fanfares of Janáček’s vibrant, life-affirming Sinfonietta.