Tchaikovsky's Fifth Symphony


Philippe Jordan & Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider

Thu 25 Oct 2018 7.30pm - 9.40pm
Barbican Hall, London

MUSSORGSKY Night on the Bare Mountain
SZYMANOWSKI Violin Concerto No 2

Philippe Jordan conductor
Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider violin
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £56 £41 £31 £22 £16

£10 Wildcard tickets available
Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys

On sale dates:
Online: Friday 2 February 2018 10am
By Phone: Wednesday 21 February 2018 10am
In Person: Wednesday 21 February 2018 10am

Part of 2018/19 Season


download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.

Dramatic landscapes, folk-tales and fate, with conductor Philippe Jordan and violinist Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider.

Philippe Jordan conducts a work that has the earth in its bones – Szymanowski’s impressionistic Violin Concerto No 2, which recreates in orchestral form the Polish folk music of the Tatra Mountain Region.

Then surrender to the sweeping, romantic tunes and lush orchestration of Tchaikovsky’s Fifth, a symphony that wavers between optimism and sorrow. An overall feeling of melancholy and nostalgia gives way to tentative moments of optimism, even outright joy, and the sense that even the darkest hour must contain at least some glimmer of hope. 

download generic

Download the Programme (PDF)


Pre-concert event

LSO Platforms: Guildhall Artists
6pm Barbican Hall
Free entry

Rec ClassicFM 2016 150 50