Shostakovich Symphony No 4


Gianandrea Noseda & Peter Moore

Thu 1 Nov 2018 7.30pm - 9.55pm
Barbican Hall, London

KODÁLY Dances of Galánta
JAMES MACMILLAN Trombone Concerto (UK premiere)

Gianandrea Noseda conductor
Peter Moore trombone
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £56 £41 £31 £22 £16

£10 Wildcard tickets available
Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys

On sale dates:
Online: Friday 2 February 2018 10am
By Phone: Wednesday 21 February 2018 10am
In Person: Wednesday 21 February 2018 10am

download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)

Part of 2018/19 Season

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.

Hear the LSO at full strength as Gianandrea Noseda continues his survey of Shostakovich with the monumental Fourth Symphony.

Zoltán Kodály’s tribute to the Slovakian town of Galánta is infused with the sounds of folk music from the region, and is set in this concert alongside James MacMillan’s haunting, otherworldly Trombone Concerto.

Shostakovich at one point thought his Fourth Symphony was the best thing he’d ever written. Extravagant and challenging in equal measure, it’s a work of epic proportions, requiring over 100 musicians including large percussion and brass sections. Owing to Soviet censure, the work went unperformed for almost 30 years after it was completed, until in 1961 it was revealed as one of the significant milestones of the composer’s output, the work that solidified him as a master symphonist.

Pre-concert event

LSO Platforms: Guildhall Artists
6pm Barbican Hall
Free entry