Dvořák Cello Concerto


François-Xavier Roth & Jean-Guihen Queyras

Wed 14 Nov 2018 7.30pm - 9.40pm
Barbican Hall, London

DEBUSSY Prélude à l’après-midi d’un Faune
DVOŘÁK Cello Concerto
STRAUSS Also sprach Zarathustra

François-Xavier Roth conductor
Jean-Guihen Queyras cello
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £56 £41 £31 £22 £16

£10 Wildcard tickets available
Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys

On sale dates:
Online: Friday 2 February 2018 10am
By Phone: Wednesday 21 February 2018 10am
In Person: Wednesday 21 February 2018 10am


download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)


Part of 2018/19 Season

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.

Three masterworks by Debussy, Dvořák and Strauss form a panorama of music in Europe in the final throes of the 19th century.

In the mid-1890s, three composers produced iconic works which would change the face of music.

The lone flute and luscious chords of Debussy’s Prélude have become instantly recognisable; and a piece where the composer laid the foundation for the innovations of the 20th century. Meanwhile Dvořák’s Cello Concerto, sumptuous and virtuosic, was one of the first of its kind, opening up new possibilities for the solo cello. Finally Strauss’ symphonic poem – later renowned for its appearance in 2001: A Space Odyssey – placed the orchestra in a new role, where the music became the narrative and the musicians storytellers.

These three works are a snapshot of the rich musical diversity in Europe – and precursors of musical innovation still to come.

Pre-concert event

LSO Platforms: Guildhall Artists
6pm Barbican Hall
Free entry

Rec ClassicFM 2016 150 50