Romanian Rhapsody: Paris


On tour

Mon 17 Dec 2018 8.30pm - 10.30pm
Philharmonie de Paris

BRAHMS Violin Concerto
ENESCU Romanian Rhapsody No 1

Sir Simon Rattle conductor
Leonidas Kavakos violin
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: for more information and tickets please visit the Philharmonie de Paris website.

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.

Brahms’ Violin Concerto is one of the most impressive violin concertos, and a perfect match for the talents of virtuoso Leonidas Kavakos. Inspired by free-spirited Hungarian playing techniques, it brims with energy – an homage to the Gypsy heritage of Joseph Joachim, the renowned violinist for whom it was created. ‘The last movement is really Budapest,’ remarks Sir Simon.

It’s paired here with two more works rooted in popular history: Debussy’s evocative travelogue, Images, which ventures from English and French folk tunes to the unmistakable dancing rhythms of Spain and the Iberian peninsula; and Enescu’s vivid Rhapsody, which draws on Romanian folk traditions – with scurrying violins and triumphant brass fanfares.