Romanian Rhapsody


With Sir Simon Rattle

Tue 18 Dec 2018 7.30pm - 9.45pm
Barbican Hall, London

BRAHMS Violin Concerto
ENESCU Romanian Rhapsody No 1 *

Sir Simon Rattle conductor
Leonidas Kavakos violin
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £56 £41 £31 £22 £16

£10 Wildcard tickets available
Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys


download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)


Part of 2018/19 Season

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.

Continuing Roots and Origins, Sir Simon Rattle unites Debussy, Brahms and Enescu – rarely performed together, but each inspired by folk tradition.

Brahms’ Violin Concerto is one of the most impressive violin concertos, and a perfect match for the talents of virtuoso Leonidas Kavakos. Inspired by free-spirited Hungarian playing techniques, it brims with energy – an homage to the Gypsy heritage of Joseph Joachim, the renowned violinist for whom it was created.  ‘The last movement is really Budapest,’ remarks Sir Simon. 

It’s paired here with two more works rooted in popular history: Debussy’s evocative travelogue, Images, which ventures from English and French folk tunes to the unmistakable dancing rhythms of Spain and the Iberian peninsula; and Enescu’s vivid Rhapsody, which draws on Romanian folk traditions – with scurrying violins and triumphant brass fanfares.

* The performance of Enescu's Romanian Rhapsody No 1 is generously supported by the Romanian Cultural Institute

Logo RCI 5colors black web