Nielsen's Inextinguishable


Sir Simon Rattle & Barbara Hannigan

Thu 10 Jan 2019 7.30pm - 9.40pm
Barbican Hall, London

SIBELIUS Symphony No 7
HANS ABRAHAMSEN Let me tell you
NIELSEN Symphony No 4, ‘Inextinguishable’

Sir Simon Rattle conductor
Barbara Hannigan soprano
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £56 £41 £31 £22 £16

£10 Wildcard tickets available
Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys

On sale dates:
Online: Friday 2 February 2018 10am
By Phone: Wednesday 21 February 2018 10am
In Person: Wednesday 21 February 2018 10am


download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)


Part of 2018/19 Season

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.

Sir Simon Rattle brings together three harrowing and mournful pieces in this tragic tour-de-force. 

Nielsen’s turbulent Symphony No 4 echoes the violence and ferocity of World War I. Opening with a furious blast of energy, chaos and a sense of instability reign for much of the piece, brought to a menacing climax by two warring percussion. But hopeful and atmospheric moments reoccur throughout the piece, embodying what Nielsen called ‘the elemental will to live’, or ‘the inextinguishable’.

Sibelius compresses the full energy of a four-movement symphony into a single movement with his unconventional Symphony No 7, described by Sir Simon Rattle as ‘almost like a scream.’ Barbara Hannigan joins Sir Simon for Abrahamsen’s hauntingly beautiful let me tell you, exploring the perspective of Shakespeare’s Ophelia.