Schumann Symphony No 3: Cologne


On tour

Mon 4 Feb 2019 8.00pm - 10.00pm
Cologne Philharmonic Hall

SCHUMANN Overture: Manfred
MENDELSSOHN Concerto for violin and piano
SCHUMANN Symphony No 3, ‘Rhenish’

Sir John Eliot Gardiner conductor
Isabelle Faust violin
Kristian Bezuidenhout piano
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: for more information and tickets please visit the Philharmonie Cologne website.


Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.

Sir John Eliot Gardiner leads a journey through Mendelssohn and Schumann.

Desperate, heartfelt and elegant, the Manfred Overture opens with an urgent impetus that only increases through the work, displaying the intense strife which lies ahead for its protagonist. Isabelle Faust and Kristian Bezuidenhout then present Mendelssohn’s Concerto for Violin and Piano, which elegantly balances a measure of Classical restraint against rich and Romantic displays of feeling.

We close with Schumann’s Third Symphony. One of the composer’s most impressive, it paints a euphoric picture of the German Rhineland in broad Beethovenian style, closing with an exhilarating finale.