Gardiner's Schumann


Symphony No 3

Thu 7 Feb 2019 7.30pm - 9.30pm
Barbican Hall, London

WEBER Overture: Euryanthe
MENDELSSOHN Concerto for violin and piano
SCHUMANN Symphony No 3, ‘Rhenish’

Sir John Eliot Gardiner conductor
Isabelle Faust violin
Kristian Bezuidenhout fortepiano
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £56 £41 £31 £22 £16

£10 Wildcard tickets available
Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys



Part of 2018/19 Season


download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.

Sir John Eliot Gardiner leads a journey through the Romanticism of Weber, Mendelssohn and Schumann.

The Overture to Weber’s grand opera Euryanthe, which has taken on a life of its own in the concert hall, is a window onto some of the most exciting moments of the whole work. Isabelle Faust and Kristian Bezuidenhout then present Mendelssohn’s Concerto for Violin and Piano, which elegantly balances a measure of Classical restraint against rich and Romantic displays of feeling.

We close with Schumann’s Third Symphony. One of the composer’s most impressive, it paints a euphoric picture of the German Rhineland in broad Beethovenian style, closing with an exhilarating finale.

See the final instalment of Sir John Eliot Gardiner's Schumann cycle on Sunday 10 February.

On our blog
Learn more about Schumann's Symphonies, with thoughts from Sir John on the music that reveals a less familiar side of this Romantic composer par excellence

Orchestra's Choice
LSO players tell stories about their favourite pieces by Schumann

Live stream

This concert will be streamed live on the LSO YouTube channel, including an introduction from backstage at 7pm.


Rec ClassicFM 2016 150 50