Soundhub Showcase


Sat 9 Feb 2019 7.00pm - 9.00pm
Jerwood Hall, LSO St Luke's, London

ANGELA SLATER Eye o da Hurricane (UK premiere)
LILLIE HARRIS Consumption (world premiere)
ROBIN HAIGH Aesop (world premiere)

Darren Bloom conductor
Tabea Debus recorder
Pasha Mansurov flute
Scott Lygate clarinet
Fraser Gordon bassoon
Becky Smith trombone
Pete Smith tuba
Neil Percy percussion
Tom Edwards percussion
Clare Duckworth violin
Julian Gil Rodriguez violin
Malcolm Johnston viola
Anna Bastow viola
Colin Alexander cello
Jani Pensola double bass

Tickets: £7 (£5 concessions)

£0.60 online booking fee, £0.70 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

On sale dates:
Online: Friday 2 February 2018 10am
By Phone: Wednesday 21 February 2018 10am
In Person: Wednesday 21 February 2018 10am

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.

LSO Soundhub offers composers a flexible environment to explore, collaborate and experiment. Join us to hear what our Phase II participants Robin Haigh and Lillie Harris have been working on.

Lillie Harris' Consumption explores our use of natural resources: a busy natural world of flitting fragments opens into moments of unison, as ecosystems breathe together, juxtaposed with humankind's industrial economy in its relentless, rhythmic toxicity.

Read more about Lillie's piece on the LSO Blog

In Robin Haigh's Aesop a sole recorder takes on the role of the Ancient Greek storyteller, while an ensemble of instruments gather around as listeners. Aesop is the third in a series of pieces written for recorder player Tabea Debus following the British-Composer-Award-winning In Feyre Foreste (2016) and Twenty One Minute Pieces (2018). 

On YouTube: Robin explains his fascination with the recorder

The remainder of the programme comprises works from associates on the LSO Soundhub Scheme

LSO Soundhub is generously supported by Susie Thomson

Listen: Robin Haigh


Listen: Lillie Harris