Gardiner's Schumann


Symphony No 1

Sun 10 Feb 2019 7.00pm - 9.00pm
Barbican Hall, London

SCHUMANN Overture: Manfred
BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto No 1
SCHUMANN Symphony No 1, ‘Spring’

Sir John Eliot Gardiner conductor
Piotr Anderszewski piano
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £56 £41 £31 £22 £16

£10 Wildcard tickets available
Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys

On sale dates:
Online: Friday 2 February 2018 10am
By Phone: Wednesday 21 February 2018 10am
In Person: Wednesday 21 February 2018 10am

Part of 2018/19 Season

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.

Sir John Eliot Gardiner explores Schumann at his most urgent, dramatic and tender.

Desperate, heartfelt and elegant, the Manfred Overture opens with an urgent impetus that only increases through the work, displaying the intense strife which lies ahead for its protagonist. We then hear Beethoven's First Piano Concerto which the composer wrote for himself to premiere; as a prodigious soloist looking to make his name he gave the part grand and daring challenges.

From the dramatic first trumpet-call which awakens the frozen landscape, Schumann’s Symphony No 1 is a celebration of spring. Move through the season and the gruff folksong Scherzo until finally the season departs with a cheery farewell, a jubilant conclusion which dances into summer.

Change of programme
At the request of the soloist Piotr Anderszewski this concert will now feature Beethoven's Piano Concerto No 1, in place of the Schumann Piano Concerto.
Posted Tue 2 Oct 4.45pm

On our blog
Learn more about Schumann's Symphonies, with thoughts from Sir John on the music that reveals a less familiar side of this Romantic composer par excellence