Artist Portrait: Daniil Trifonov


Ravel Piano Concerto in G

Sun 17 Feb 2019 7.00pm - 9.15pm
Barbican Hall, London

RAMEAU Les Indes galantes – Suite
RAVEL Piano Concerto in G major
BETSY JOLAS A Little Summer Suite
POULENC Les biches – Suite
RAVEL La valse

Sir Simon Rattle conductor
Daniil Trifonov piano
London Symphony Orchestra


Tickets: £56 £41 £31 £22 £16

Check £10 Wildcard ticket availability
Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys


Part of 2018/19 Season


download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.

Piano sensation Daniil Trifonov commences his LSO Artist Portrait series with an all-French programme conducted by Sir Simon Rattle.

Trifonov accompanies the LSO for Ravel’s jazz-flecked Piano Concerto in G Major. Famously opening with the sound of a whip-crack, the piece launches into an ecstatic outpouring of vitality and joy, slowing for a simple and elegant second movement, before picking up the pace for an exhilarating finale.

Alongside pieces by Rameau and Poulenc, this concert sees the LSO’s first performance of Betsy Jolas’ A Little Summer Suite, a commission by Sir Simon Rattle. The piece plays contrasting rhythms and melodic lines against each other, using a jaunty pallet of sounds to create a breezy, playful feel. A true burst of summer to warm this late-winter concert.