Barbara Hannigan conducts


Sun 17 Mar 2019 7.00pm - 9.00pm
Barbican Hall, London

LIGETI Concerto Românesc
HAYDN Symphony No 86
BERG Lulu – Suite

Barbara Hannigan conductor/soprano
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £56 £41 £31 £22 £16

£10 Wildcard tickets available
Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys

On sale dates:
Online: Friday 2 February 2018 10am
By Phone: Wednesday 21 February 2018 10am
In Person: Wednesday 21 February 2018 10am

Part of 2018/19 Season

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.

Barbara Hannigan takes on the role of conductor and soprano in this high-energy concert, bringing her Artist Portrait series to a close.

Hannigan’s own take on Gershwin’s Girl Crazy has been described by The Times as ‘intelligent, invigorating,’ and ‘madly compelling.’ From the tender romance of ‘Embraceable You’ to the ecstatic swing of ‘I Got Rhythm’, she teases out the playful magic of George Gershwin in this arrangement of the composer’s most celebrated show tunes.

Ligeti’s blustery Concert Românesc, inspired by traditional Romanian folk music, opens the performance. Building to a chaotic, vivacious finale, the piece is followed by Haydn’s bracing Symphony No 86. Then, a fiendish suite of pieces from Berg’s dark and delightful opera Lulu, which follows the exploits of the eponymous social-climber who seduces the powerful, then sends them to an early grave.