Haitink at 90: Mahler Symphony No 4


With Isabelle Faust & Sally Matthews

Thu 21 Mar 2019 7.30pm - 9.40pm
Barbican Hall, London

DVOŘÁK Violin Concerto
MAHLER Symphony No 4

Bernard Haitink conductor
Isabelle Faust violin
Sally Matthews soprano
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £56 £41 £31 £22 £16

Check £10 Wildcard tickets availability
Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys



Part of 2018/19 Season


download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.

As the LSO celebrates his 90th birthday and a career spanning over six decades, Bernard Haitink conducts Dvořák and Mahler.

Bernard Haitink's performances reveal depths of insight gained through a lifetime of making music, engaged in both the greatest works of the repertoire and in forging enduring musical partnerships. In his career, spanning over 60 years, he has worked with the great ensembles and opera houses – the Concertgebouw Orchestra, Glyndebourne, the Royal Opera, the Staatskapelle Dresden and many others.

In the month of his 90th birthday, the LSO welcomes him to the stage for the second of two concerts that celebrate the music that has been at the heart of his career: the lyrical strains of Dvořák and the warmth and intimacy of Mahler's Fourth Symphony.

Change of soloist

Anna Lucia Richter has been forced to withdraw from the concerts on Thursday 14, Monday 18 and Thursday 21 March due to illness. The LSO is very grateful to Sally Matthews who has agreed to step in at short notice. The programme remains unchanged.

Posted at 3pm on 12 March 2019


Haitink on LSO Live

Listen to the latest addition to Haitink's landmark Beethoven Cycle on Apple Music.

Rec ClassicFM 2016 150 50