Russian Roots


Gianandrea Noseda & Seong-Jin Cho

Thu 28 Mar 2019 7.30pm - 9.30pm
Barbican Hall, London

RACHMANINOV Piano Concerto No 2

Gianandrea Noseda conductor
Seong-Jin Cho piano
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £56 £41 £31 £22 £16

Check £10 Wildcard tickets availability
Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys


Part of 2018/19 Season


download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.

Hear from the teenage Shostakovich in this all-Russian programme with conductor Gianandrea Noseda.

The lush and romantic elegance of Rachmaninov’s Second Piano Concerto is followed by Balakirev’s Islamey, a piece of large-scale fantasy music inspired by a trip to Caucasus, the mountainous area which joins Europe and Asia.

Shostakovich wrote his first symphony when he was just 18. Already a remarkably experienced composer, the young Dimtri incorporates aspects of Mahler and Prokofiev in this musical first salvo from the teenager who would become one of music’s biggest symphonists.

Change of concerto

At the request of the soloist Seong-Jin Cho, this concert will now feature Rachmaninov’s Piano Concerto No 2, in place of Rachmaninov’s Piano Concerto No 3. The rest of the programme remains unchanged.
Posted at 11.55am on 21 March 2019

Live stream

Watch this concert and an introduction from backstage live on our YouTube channel from 6.30pm GMT