Ives Symphony No 2


Sir Mark Elder & Kirill Gerstein. NB Change of Programme

Sun 14 Apr 2019 7.00pm - 8.45pm
Barbican Hall, London

BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto No 3
IVES Symphony No 2

Sir Mark Elder conductor
Kirill Gerstein piano
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £56 £41 £31 £22 £16

Check £10 Wildcard tickets availability
Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys

Part of 2018/19 Season


download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.

Sir Mark Elder takes us from German Romanticism to the eclecticism of one of the 20th-century’s most individual composers – Charles Ives. 

Graceful lyricism and dramatic power, irrepressible energy and intricate brilliance from the soloist – the hallmarks of Beethoven’s writing for his own instrument all combine in his Piano Concerto No 3.

The second half brings something else entirely, from a composer like no other – Charles Ives’ Second Symphony, a dizzying patchwork of quotations and allusions, peppered with snatches of popular tunes and hymns from the composer's American homeland.

Change of Programme

At the request of the conductor, this concert will now feature Ives' Symphony No 2, in place of Ives' Symphony No 4, which was programmed when listings were first published. Please note that, owing to this change, the London Symphony Chorus will no longer appear in this concert.

Posted Friday 6 April 2018