Ravel Boléro


NB Change of Soloists

Thu 25 Apr 2019 7.30pm - 9.20pm
Barbican Hall, London

RAVEL Rapsodie espagnole
RAVEL Boléro
RAVEL L’heure espagnole

François-Xavier Roth conductor
Isabelle Druet Conception
Jean-Paul Fouchécourt Torquemade
Thomas Dolié Ramiro
Edgaras Montvidas Gonzalves
Nicolas Cavallier Gomez
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £56 £41 £31 £22 £16

Check £10 Wildcard tickets availability
Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys


Part of 2018/19 Season


download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.

Three luxurious works – a ballet, opera and symphonic rhapsody – showing the many sides of Ravel, but each inspired by his love of Spanish culture.

An authority on Ravel, François-Xavier Roth transports you to the Basque country of the composer’s childhood, with three works that fuse luscious French orchestration and lilting Spanish rhythms. 

Mysterious melodies weave delicately throughout Ravel’s early work Rapsodie espagnole, punctuated by bursts of Spanish-inspired fanfares and Habanera dance rhythms. The fascination with his Spanish heritage would be a recurring theme in many of Ravel’s creations, from the one-act opera L’heure espagnole, a romantic intrigue set in 18th-century Spain, to his most popular work, Boléro. Originally a ballet, the simplicity of the delicate opening flute and insistent marching drums make it one of classical music’s most familiar masterpieces.

Change of Soloists

The performance of Ravel’s L’heure espagnole will now feature soloists Edgaras Montvidas as Gonzalves and Nicolas Cavallier as Gomez, replacing Stanislas de Barbeyrac and Nicolas Courjal respectively.

Posted Wednesday 3 April 2019

Pre-concert event

LSO Platforms: Guildhall Artists
6pm Barbican Hall
Free entry

Ravel String Quartet in F

Marmen Quartet
Johannes Marmen violin 
Ricky Gore violin
Bryony Gibson-Cornish viola
Steffan Morris cello

On Our Blog

Ravel in Spain
On the morning of his first visit to Madrid, Maurice Ravel is hard at work on a piece which is urgently required by his publishers …

LSO Play

Discover Ravel's Boléro from inside the Orchestra with LSO Play.