John Adams & Harrison Birtwistle


NB Change of Programme

Wed 1 May 2019 7.30pm - 9.30pm
Barbican Hall, London

STRAVINSKY Symphonies of Wind Instruments
JOHN ADAMS Harmonielehre

Sir Simon Rattle conductor
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £56 £41 £31 £22 £16

Check £10 Wildcard tickets availability
Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys


Part of 2018/19 Season

download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)


Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.

Sir Simon Rattle conducts a study in harmony, with music from John Adams, Stravinsky and Sir Harrison Birtwistle.

Inspired by a dream in which an oil tanker launches into space like a Saturn V rocket, John Adams’ Harmonielehre marries the rich and expressive harmonies of late Romanticism with the postmodernist developmental techniques of 20th-century minimalism.

Catch spectral glimpses of Sibelius, Debussy, Mahler and early Schoenberg as we journey through a fantastical sonic landscape, from the high-energy opening and the melancholic second movement through to the tidal wave of brass and percussion which brings the piece to its grand and uplifting final climax.

LSO Music Director Sir Simon Rattle brings this large-scale work together with The Shadow of Night by British composer Sir Harrison Birtwistle and Stravinsky's Symphonies of Wind Instruments

Change of Programme
This concert will now feature Sir Harrison Birtwistle’s The Shadow of Night, in place of the new work by the composer that was announced when listings were first published.

Pre-concert event

LSO Platforms: Guildhall Artists
6pm Barbican Hall
Free entry

Stravinsky Three Pieces for Solo Clarinet
Stravinsky Suite from The Soldier's Tale for violin, clarinet and piano

Julia Raga Pascual clarinet
Lyrit Milgram violin
Ryan Drucker piano

On Our Blog

Dreams, Myths and Histories: John Adams' Harmonielehre
'The forty-five minute symphony … was a statement of belief in the power of tonality at a time when I was uncertain about its future': exploring John Adams' symphonic epic of 1985