Concerto for Orchestra


Michael Tilson Thomas & Julia Fischer

Thu 30 May 2019 7.30pm - 9.40pm
Barbican Hall, London

CAGE The Seasons
BEETHOVEN Violin Concerto
BARTÓK Concerto for Orchestra

Michael Tilson Thomas conductor
Julia Fischer violin
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £56 £41 £31 £22 £16

£10 Wildcard tickets available
Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys

On sale dates:
Online: Friday 2 February 2018 10am
By Phone: Wednesday 21 February 2018 10am
In Person: Wednesday 21 February 2018 10am

Part of 2018/19 Season

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.

Celebrations of sound, nature and the seasons fill this programme, led by LSO Conductor Laureate Michael Tilson Thomas.

The cycle of the year, inspired by the composer’s immersion into Indian philosophy, is the backdrop to John Cage’s The Seasons, with each moment, from the austerity of winter to the stirring of spring, conjured up through vivid orchestral colours.

The warmth and radiance of the solo instrument takes centre stage in Beethoven’s Violin Concerto, played by soloist Julia Fischer, culminating in the spirited, dancing finale. However, in the Concerto for Orchestra, Bartók lets every instrument and section shine, resulting in a joyful celebration of music and the collection of individuals that makes up the orchestra.

Pre-concert event

LSO Platforms: Guildhall Artists
6pm Barbican Hall
Free entry