Artist Portrait: Daniil Trifonov


Beethoven Piano Concerto No 5

Sun 2 Jun 2019 7.00pm - 9.00pm
Barbican Hall, London

IVES A Symphony: New England Holidays
BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto No 5

Michael Tilson Thomas conductor
Daniil Trifonov piano
London Symphony Chorus
Simon Halsey chorus director
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £56 £41 £31 £22 £16

Check £10 Wildcard tickets availability
Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys


Part of 2018/19 Season

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.

Daniil Trifonov takes on the enormous technical demands of Beethoven’s mighty ‘Emperor’ as part of his Artist Portrait series.

So nicknamed for its heroic melodies and grand scale, Beethoven’s ‘Emperor’, or Piano Concerto No 5, looks beyond the Classical era, exulting in the romance and grandeur that would follow. The piece is propelled by the energetic interplay between piano and orchestra, and requires a pianist of exceptional capability. 

Charles Ives’ New England Holidays stands as one of the composer’s most radical and experimental pieces. Juxtaposing a frightening dissonance with picturesque childhood nostalgia, it draws together disparate allusions and discordant sounds to reflect the scraps and fragments that make up our memories. ‘Here are melodies like icons,’ wrote Ives' biographer, ‘resonating with memory and history, with war, childhood, community, and nation.’

Discovery Day

Sunday 2 June, 10am–5pm
Attend a morning LSO rehearsal with Michael Tilson Thomas followed by a talk about Charles Ives with chamber music performances in the afternoon.

More info