Elim Chan & Alice Sara Ott

Sun 9 Jun 2019 7.00pm - 9.00pm
Barbican Hall, London

LIAM MATTISON Violet (world premiere) †
TCHAIKOVSKY Piano Concerto No 1

Elim Chan conductor
Alice Sara Ott piano
London Symphony Orchestra

† Commissioned via the Panufnik Composers Scheme, generously supported by Lady Hamlyn and the Helen Hamlyn Trust

Tickets: £56 £41 £31 £22 £16

Check £10 Wildcard tickets availability
Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys

Part of 2018/19 Season


download genericDownload the concert programme (PDF)

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.

Two inspirational women making waves in classical music join forces to present a spectacle of sumptuous Romantic masterpieces and a world premiere.

Elim Chan conducts a programme to keep you on the edge of your seat. Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto is filled with drama and intensity from the very first moment – from opening chords soaring up the length of the piano, to virtuosic flourishes and a galloping finale – and no match for Alice Sara Ott’s skill. It’s complemented by Rimsky-Korsakov’s intricately descriptive music, inspired by One Thousand and One Nights, an extravagant journey through faraway lands and fairy-tale adventures.

The world premiere of a new work by Liam Mattison – a young composer championed by the LSO – is the perfect match for this showcase, presenting exceptional artists who are the ones to watch.

Rec ClassicFM 2016 150 50

Elim Chan’s appearance with the LSO is generously supported by the Reignwood Culture Foundation

Reignwood english chinese N

Alice Sara Ott & Friends

Chamber Music at LSO St Lukes:
Friday 3 May 1pm
Beethoven's Kreutzer Sonata with Ray Chen
Friday 3 May 6.30pm
: Piano Trios by Shostakovich & Beethoven
Friday 24 May 1pm: Messiaen's Quartet for the End of Time
Friday 24 May 6.30pm: Music for two pianos by Ravel