Berlioz and Shostakovich: Dublin


On tour

Fri 14 Jun 2019 8.00pm - 10.00pm
National Concert Hall, Dublin

BEETHOVEN Egmont Overture
SHOSTAKOVICH Concerto for piano, trumpet and strings
BERLIOZ Harold in Italy

Gianandrea Noseda conductor
Daniil Trifonov
Philip Cobb trumpet
Antoine Tamestit viola
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: for more information and tickets, please visiti the National Concert Hall website.

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change

With his Concerto No 1, Shostakovich upends the traditions of the Concerto form, creating a piece that bites with wit and humour. Lurching from the pithy sarcasm of the solo trumpet to the opulence of a waltz-like theme, the piece charges through disparate moods with wicked abandon, building towards a manic, carnivalesque climax.

Beethoven’s Egmont Overture burns with the power and passion of its eponymous hero, telling the dramatic story of a freedom fighter who strives to liberate his people. The concert closes with Berlioz’s dreamlike Harold in Italy. Melancholy and pensive, the symphony brings the viola to the forefront to convey restlessness, wanderlust and the artist’s ceaseless search for inspiration.