Pictures at an Exhibition


Alain Altinoglu

Thu 10 Oct 2019 7.30pm - 9.30pm
Barbican Hall, London

KODÁLY Háry János – Suite
RACHMANINOV Piano Concerto No 2
MUSSORGSKY Pictures at an Exhibition

Alain Altinoglu conductor
Simon Trpčeski piano
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £57 £42 £32 £22 £16

Check £10 Wildcard tickets availability
Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys

On sale dates:
Online: Tuesday 5 March 2019 10am
By Phone: Tuesday 19 March 2019 10am
In Person: Tuesday 19 March 2019 10am

Part of 2019/20 season

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change

Alain Altinoglu conducts a programme of late-Romantic Hungarian and Russian music, rich in melody and full of storytelling.

As a soldier regales his tales of adventure and heroism in the suite from Kodály’s opera Háry János, the composer creates a dream-world, full of dramatic characters, folk touches and colourful stories. Simon Trpčeski joins the Orchestra as the soloist for Rachmaninov’s stormy, passionate Piano Concerto No 2, a dialogue between piano and orchestra written as the composer was emerging from a period of depression.

Closing the concert, Pictures at an Exhibition follows a visitor – Mussorgsky – walking through an art gallery. The strident melodies, irregular rhythms and Ravel’s orchestration underline the mood of each painting he observes, from the woodwind chirpy chicks through to the reverberant brass in the catacombs, the percussive terror of the witch and the blazing brass and pealing carillons of the finale.

Rec ClassicFM 2016 150 50