Shostakovich & Bruch: Cologne


Noseda & Jansen

Sat 30 Nov 2019 8.00pm - 10.00pm
Cologne Philharmonic Hall
BRUCH Violin Concerto No 1
SHOSTAKOVICH Symphony No 7, 'Leningrad'
Gianandrea Noseda conductor
Janine Jansen violin
London Symphony Orchestra

Please visit the Cologne Philharmonic website for tickets and more info.


Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change

‘Certain moments in history gave composers the possibility of saying something deeply personal’, says LSO Principal Guest Conductor Gianandrea Noseda. ‘And Shostakovich speaks equally to us today’.

As Noseda and the LSO continue their journey through all 15 of Shostakovich’s symphonies, which span the composer’s lifetime, they take on one of his biggest creations – the Seventh. Written during the siege of Leningrad in World War II, it’s shattering in scale and impact. For Noseda, ‘you can hear the march of the soldiers, the obsessive repetition, a loop you cannot escape,’ in the relentless, pounding rhythms, the struggle towards a fragile victory.