Nathalie Stutzmann: Brahms Symphony No 1


with Alina Ibragimova

Thu 9 Jan 2020 7.30pm - 9.50pm
Barbican Hall, London

WAGNER Overture and Venusburg Music from ‘Tannhäuser’
MENDELSSOHN Violin Concerto
BRAHMS Symphony No 1

Nathalie Stutzmann conductor
Alina Ibragimova violin
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £57 £42 £32 £22 £16

Check £10 Wildcard tickets availability
Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys

Part of 2019/20 season

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change

Nathalie Stutzmann brings together three landmark German composers from the Romantic era: Wagner, Mendelssohn and Brahms.

Based on the medieval legend of Tannhäuser, who wandered into the realm of the goddess Venus, Wagner’s most vividly descriptive work reflects the fragile line between spirit, flesh and human desire. Feel the pulse of the strings as the instruments build and weave into each other, desperately seeking salvation … but finding chaos instead.

Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto is one of the masterpieces of the violin repertoire, a work that changed the course of musical history. From the hauntingly beautiful opening motif, to scurrying arpeggios and fluttering tremolo, the concerto is a true display of the violinist’s versatility.

Battling with the pressure of living up to Beethoven, Brahms took 14 years to write the multi-dimensional Symphony No 1 – then peace at last. After the premiere of the work, it was affectionately called Beethoven’s Tenth.

Pre-concert performance

6pm, Barbican
LSO Platforms: Guildhall Artists
Free pre-concert recital