Pablo Ferrández (cello): ECHO Rising Stars

Pablo Ferrández_1920x1080.jpg

LSO St Luke's. NB Change of Programme

Fri 21 Feb 2020 1.00pm - 2.00pm
LSO St Luke's, London

BRUCH Kol Nidrei
ANTÓN GARCÍA ABRIL Desde el Grito del Silencio (ECHO commission)
FRANCK Sonata in A major for cello and piano

Pablo Ferrández cello
Luis Del Valle piano


Tickets: £12 (Young Barbican £5) + booking fee*
NB Unallocated seating

*£0.60 online booking fee, £0.70 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

'Personal vanity is alien to Ferrández' was the verdict of one competition jury – but this fast-rising Spanish cellist is simply passionate about communicating through the music he plays.

Bruch’s Kol Nidrei is one of those pieces that reveal a cellist’s soul as much as his technique. But then, the aim of the ECHO Rising Stars series is to find young European musicians who possess special qualities, and on the basis of his recent appearances with the London Philharmonic and the Academy of St Martin in the Fields, Ferrández has insight to spare. It’ll be fascinating to hear him in a specially-commissioned work by the doyen of Spanish film composers Antón García Abril.

Nominated by Palau de la Música Catalana and L’Auditori Barcelona.

Change of Programme
Please note that, in a change to early listings, Franck's Sonata in A major for cello and piano will now be performed instead of Rachmaninoff's Cello Sonata in G minor.