Daphnis and Chloe


Elim Chan

Thu 27 Feb 2020 7.30pm - 9.30pm
Barbican Hall, London

JAMES HOYLE Thymiaterion (world premiere) *
RACHMANINOV Piano Concerto No 3
ELIZABETH OGONEK All These Lighted Things – three little dances for orchestra
RAVEL Daphnis and Chloe – Suite No 2

* Commissioned through the Panufnik Composers Scheme, generously supported by Lady Hamlyn and The Helen Hamlyn Trust

Elim Chan conductor
Lukáš Vondráček piano
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £57 £42 £32 £22 £16

Check £10 Wildcard tickets availability
Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys

Part of the 2019/20 season

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change

As spring approaches, Elim Chan leads us from the cold winter nights into the splendour of sunlight, in this concert of music spanning the 20th century to the present day.

James Hoyle opens the night with the world premiere of his new work. Lukáš Vondráček follows with a display of virtuosity in Rachmaninov’s Piano Concerto No 3, a ferociously challenging but spectacular piece.

All these lighted things imagines the shedding of darkness by the music of dawn, expressing, in composer Elizabeth Ogonek’s words, ‘a sense of overwhelming happiness’ as the orchestra merges into one ‘community’ of joy.

Continuing the evocation of sunrise, Ravel’s Suite No 2 from Daphnis and Chloe tells the blissfully melancholic reunion of the lovers at daybreak. From the chromatic tiptoe of the first rays to a yearning crescendo, Ravel creates one of the most vibrant musical paintings of the glorious golden glow of sunrise.